Lampyris House by S+PBA


image: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

The Lampyris House is a hillside bungalow designed by Bangkok architecture firm S+PBA. The site is located on a remote hillside adjacent to the Khao Yai national park, affording the house very prominent views of the park by day but little or no view at night due to its complete isolation.

image: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

“Lampyris” refers to a firefly that emits a constant source of light after dusk. In the architects’ first visit to the site, they imagined the pitch darkness of the site at night, and envisioned a cluster of disembodied lights suspended—firefly-like—before the hillside’s silhouette.

image: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

In what the architects call a “picture-frame effect”, the interior and exterior by reciprocating views enjoyed from within the house by day with nocturnal views of the house from without by night.

image: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

In place of pictures, paintings and decorations that usually adorn the flatness of a plain wall, here large windows are fragmented and scattered across walls in picture frame size apertures.

Wall and window, interior and exterior, lose their binary nature as they dematerialize into one another.

image: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

A lap pool spans the length of the living room space, with bridge-like walkways perching across the water, creating a sense of visual layers and depth in space. The many openings in the walls allow for ample light to spill across the monochromatic surfaces in an even wash.

S+PBA is a Bangkok based Architecture firm founded in 2005 by 2 principal architects, Ponlawat Buasri and Songsuda Adhibai.

References: http://spluspba.weebly.com/

6 thoughts on “Lampyris House by S+PBA

  1. Hey I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

    • Hi Aurelio, thanks for dropping by! We’re glad you like the content and the look of the website 🙂 Look forward to seeing more of you around here!

  2. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and fantastic design and style.

  3. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. Nice photos. I have been looking for more pix of Lampyris house since I first heard of it. Living in the area and passing by the location of the house I’ve been curious to see more since it has been called a world class architecture. There are plenty of big homes, some quite beautiful, in the Khao Yai area but not that many that are so unusual in design. Mostly what we see now days are “Tuscan” knock off houses being built.

Rave and/or Rant

